August 1, 2021

Healy, Zorra Win Seekonk Selectmen Seats


Former Fire Chief Michael Healy and Selectman Christopher Zorra were the big winners in Monday’s town election. Healy was elected to serve a three year term on the Board of Selectmen. Zorra was elected to serve a second term.

Selectman David Viera, also a former fire chief, lost his bid for re-election. 1, 236 ballots were cast, which represents 10.91 percent of Seekonk’s 11,334 eligible voters. Healy won 645 votes. Zorra placed second with 517 votes. Viera got 368 votes. Doug Brown, a former member of the water commission, got 357 votes. Former selectman Nelson Almeida trailed with 353 votes.

Healy told the Reporter he was “truly humbled” by his victory. “I think everybody that ran, ran a good campaign,” Healy said. “I think it was well run by all five candidates. I want to serve the town of Seekonk in a different role other than being Fire Chief.” Zorra thanked all the voters and the candidates “who ran a clean race.” “I want to keep the town moving forward,” Zorra added. Brown said Healy and Zorra will do “an excellent job for Seekonk.”

Incumbent school committee members Noah Escaler and Kim Sluter both won re-election. They were unopposed.

Paul Buckley was re-elected to the Board of Assessors. He was unopposed.

Joseph Chauvin was elected to the Water Commission. He was unopposed.

Sharon Connors and Cynthia Corbett were re-elected to the Library Board of Trustees.  

There were no candidates for one open seat on the Planning Board.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Truly local news delivered to every home in town