July 22, 2024

Local Candidates Line Up For 2024 Election


The deadline is in for the 2024 election and there aren’t any real surprises.  The three days of filing to run for office ended on June 26, 2024.  Some incumbents will be unopposed, with only a couple of races predicted to be potentially close.  The candidates are:

  • School Committee at Large; Anthony Ferreira, Incumbent, Unopposed
  • School Committee Ward One; Ryan Queenan, Incumbent, vs. Charles Tsonos
  • School Committee Ward Two; Max Brandle Incumbent, vs. Tony de Simas
  • School Committee Ward Three; David Luiz, Unopposed (Furtado running for Rep seat)
  • School Committee Ward Four; Jessica Beauchaine, Incumbent vs Chrissy Rossi
  • State Representative District 63; Katherine Kazarian, Incumbent, Unopposed
  • State Representative District 64; Jenni Furtado vs. Ashley Pereira (Brianna Henries, Incumbent not running again)
  • State Representative District 66; Matthew Dawson, Incumbent, Unopposed
  • State Senate District 14; Valerie Lawson, Incumbent vs. Brian Coogan
  • State Senate District 18; Robert Britto, Incumbent, Unopposed
  • State Senate District 32; Pamela Lauria, Incumbent, Unopposed

All candidates must return nomination papers with signatures from registered voters by July 12, 2024. The total number varies depending on the office sought.  School Committee wards 1-4 and State Representative hopefuls need 50 valid signatures (each).  State Senate office hopefuls require 100 and At-Large School Committee needs 200 (there is no City Council election until 2026). Without these valid signatures, a candidate is not certified to be on the ballot.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here

Truly local news delivered to every home in town