August 19, 2017

Back to School for Most on August 30, 2017

Posted

August 30, 2017, all public schools open in East Providence. This continues the "new" trend of beginning school before Labor Day as most Rhode Island schools have now adopted. The first day of school at EPHS is August 30, 2017 for ninth graders only. The entire student body of EPHS will return to school on August 31, 2017. 

Lunch applications (free/reduced) for all students in all schools will be sent home the first week of school and must be completed and returned every year to determine eligibility. 

2017-2018 School Calendar:
August 29, 2016 Teacher Orientation
August 30, 2016 Schools Open
September 4 Labor Day
October 9 Columbus Day
November 10 Veterans Day Observed
November 22-24 Thanksgiving Recess
Dec 22—Jan 1 Holiday Recess
January 2, 2018 School Reopens
January 15 M. L. King, Jr. Day
February 19 Presidents’ Day
February 19-23 Winter Recess
March 30 Good Friday
April 16-20 Spring Recess
May 28 Memorial Day
June 8 Senior Class Graduation
June 13 Last Day for all Students
June 14-15-18 Make-Up Days
Quarterly Marking Periods Grades K-12:
November 2, 2017 45 Days
January 22, 2017 45 Days
April 3, 2017 45 Days
June 13, 2017 45 Days

2017-2018 East Providence School Department Contact Information:

Elected School Committee:
Charles Tsonos, Chairman ctsonosschoolcom@aol.com
Jessica Beauchaine, Member jbeauchaine@epschoolsri.com
Nathan Cahoon, Member ncahoon@epschoolsri.com
Anthony Ferreira, Member ajferreira1963@yahoo.com aferreira@epschoolsri.com
Joel Monteiro, Member joelmonteiro@epschoolsri.com
Regular school committee meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at East Providence City Hall, 145 Taunton Avenue, East Providence, RI 02914. Open Session begins at 7:30 PM, usually preceded by an Executive Session at 6:30 PM.

Central Administrative Team:
Kathryn Crowley, Superintendent Ext. 30002
Sharon Corsi, Administrative Assistant Ext. 30002
Dr. Sandra Forand, Assistant Superintendent Ext. 30033
Dr. Celeste Bowler, Assistant Superintendent Ext. 30033
Rebekah Gendron, Director of IT Ext. 30032
Julian MacDonnell, Director of Pupil Personnel Ext. 30040
Tracy Andrews-Mellouise Pupil Personnel Asst. Ext. 30040
Diana Clarkin, Director of Operations Ext. 30011
Kelly Ahrens, Chief Information Officer Ext. 11144
Cheryl Mammone, Director of Human Resources Ext. 30070
Julie Bailey, Benefits Coordinator Ext. 30071
Lucy Maddock, Director of Finance Ext. 30055
Michael Hubert, Accounting Manager/Controller Ext. 30074
Anthony Feola, Director of Facilities and Security Ext. 40054

Individual School Contact Info:
East Providence High School
Shani Wallace, Principal
Shane Messier, Assistant Principal
Araxie DeBlois Assistant Principal
Gregg Amore, Athletic Director
2000 Pawtucket Ave.
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: (401) 435-7806
Fax: (401) 435-7864

EPHS DEpartment Heads:
Business Department ext. 126
Karen Cardillo kcardillo@epschoolsri.com

English Department ext. 129
Bob Currier, gcurrier@epschoolsri.com

Fine Arts Department ext. 142
Maryann Lasorsa, mlasorsa@epschoolsri.com

Guidance Department ext. 110
Kathryn Newman, knewman@epschoolsri.com

Library ext. 123
Donna Sousa, Librarian, dsousa@epschoolsri.com

Math Department ext. 127
Darlene Hall, dhall@epschoolsri.com

Nurse ext. 114
Kim Degnan, kdegnan@epschoolsri.com

Physical Education / Health Department
Kristen Coutoulakis, kcoutoulakis@epschoolsri.com

School Resource Officer
Officer Doug Borden, dborden@epschoolsri.com

Social Worker ext. 138
Lorna Swearingen, lswearingen@epschoolsri.com

Special Services Department ext. 144
Deborah Ormerod, dormerod@epschoolsri.com

Science Department ext. 128
Joel Swan, jswan@epschoolsri.com

Social Studies Department ext. 132
Michael Silva, msilva@epschoolsri.com

World Languages Department ext. 131
Cristina Carlotti, ccarlotti@epschoolsri.com

EPHS Career Technical School:
Karen Mellen, Director
Marilyn Hassell, Secretary
1998 Pawtucket Avenue
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7815
Fax: 401-435-7854

Martin Middle School
Fatima Avila, Principal
Robert Perry, Assistant Principal
111 Brown Street
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7819
Fax: 401-435-7851

Riverside Middle School
Dr. Cheri Guerra, Principal
Greg McCarthy, Assistant Principal
179 Forbes Street
East Providence, RI 02915
Ph: 401-433-6230
Fax: 401-433-6261

Myron J. Francis School
Lloydanne Leddy, Principal
64 Bourne Avenue
East Providence, RI 02916
Ph: 401-435-7829
Fax: 401-435-7852

Agnes B. Hennessey School
Elaine Allen, Principal
75 Fort Street
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7831
Fax: 401-435-7835

Kent Heights School
Stephen Prew, Principal
2680 Pawtucket Avenue
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7824
Fax: 401-435-7839

Oldham School
Donna Peluso, Principal
60 Bart Drive
East Providence, RI 02915
Ph: 401-433-6209
Fax: 401-433-6247

Orlo Avenue School
Yanaiza Gallant, Principal
25 Orlo Avenue
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7834
Fax: 401-435-7825

Silver Spring School
Michael Kirkutis, Principal
120 Silver Spring Street
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7836
Fax: 401-435-7826

Waddington School
Patricia Barlow, Principal
101 Legion Way
East Providence, RI 02915
Ph: 401-433-6235
Fax: 401-433-6207

Early Learning Center at Waddington
Patricia Barlow, Principal
101 Legion Way
East Providence, RI 02915
Ph: 401-383-4192
Fax: 401-383-4724

Whiteknact School
Teresa Medeiros, Principal
261 Grosvenor Avenue
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph: 401-435-7828
Fax: 401-435-7862

Pre-K - Martin Annex
Karen Rebello, Principal
111 Brown Street
East Providence, RI 02914
Ph. 401-270-5421
Ph: 401-270-2321

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Share!
Truly local news delivered to every home in town