December 19, 2018

New Rhode Island Hockey Hall of Fame to Induct Local Great, Ron Wilson


Providence, RI (March 4, 2018): The Rhode Island Hockey Hall of Fame has announced East Providence’s Ron Wilson as one of 16 Rhode Island hockey greats who will be enshrined in its charter class on September 20th at the Twin River Event Center in Lincoln. The names and official portraits of all inductees were unveiled March 4th between periods of the AHL game between the P-Bruins and Springfield at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in downtown Providence.
Typically, Hall of Fame classes are highlighted by a select few who stand out. However, as RI Hockey Hall of Fame chairman, Vincent Cimini, rightly points out, “Each, like Ron Wilson, deserves the spotlight. This is the ‘Mount Rushmore’ of Rhode Island hockey.
“Our charter class is comprised of 11 who have represented the USA in World Championships, including 8 in the Olympics,” he proudly noted. “Ten have previously been enshrined in the International, USA and AHL Hockey Halls of Fame. Three have their names engraved on the NHL’s Stanley Cup and many have set records that still stand in the sport. Most of all, as players and as pillars of the game, they each represent the very best of our state’s rich and illustrious hockey heritage.”
Wison’s credentials locally, nationally and globally are impressive. Born in Winsor, Ontario, he move to East Providence at age 12 when his father, Larry Wislon, took over the coaching reigns of our state’s then professional team, the RI Reds.
He became a three-time All-Stater at East Providence High School under legendary coach Joe Sprague. He later became a two-time All-American at Providence College and the nation’s leading collegiate scorer in 1974 en route to becoming the Friar’s all-time leading scorer with 250 career points. After a 12-year NHL and European career, he coached four NHL teams to 648 wins, the most ever by an American coach. He was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2017.
Other charter class inductees, in alphabetical order, are:
Bill Belisle, Curt Bennett, Harvey Bennett, Sr., Bryan Berard, Keith Carney, Joe Cavanagh, Sara DeCosta-Hayes, Cammi Granato, Lou Lamoriello, Brian Lawton, Louis A.R. Pieri, Dick Rondeau, Mathieu Schneider, Chris Terreri, and Zellio Toppazzini. Complete bios on all inductees are posted on the RI Hockey Hall of Fame’s website -
Tickets for the September 20th Enshrinement Celebration & Dinner at the Twin River Event Center are on sale now on the RI Hockey Hall of Fame website.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Truly local news delivered to every home in town